City Council Agenda Memo



City Council

Meeting Date: Feb. 13, 2014

TO: Larry D. Gilley, City Manager

FROM: Danette Dunlap, City Secretary

SUBJECT: Oral Resolution – Authorizing the City Manager to sign an Agreement between the City of Abilene, Wylie Independent School District (WISD), Abilene Independent School District (AISD), Lytle Water District and the City of Impact to hold a Joint Election in Certain Voting Precincts on May 10, 2014.

GENERAL INFORMATION

The Texas Election Code, Chapter 271 authorizes political subdivision of the State of Texas hold elections jointly in voting precincts if it will be of benefit to the citizens and voters thereof to be served by common polling places and elections are ordered by the authorities of two or more political subdivisions to be held on the same day in all or part of the same territory.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends that Council approve by Oral Resolution Authorizing the City Manager to sign an agreement between the City of Abilene, Wylie Independent School District, Abilene Independent School District, Lytle Water District and the City of Impact.

<u>ATTACHMENTS</u>

Agreement

Prepared by:		Disposition by City Council
Name: <u>Danette Dunlap</u> Title: <u>City Secretary</u>	Item # <u>6.5</u>	□ Approved Ord/Res# □ Denied □ Other City Secretary

AGREEMENT BY

THE CITY OF ABILENE, THE CITY OF IMPACT, ABILENE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT, LYTLE WATER DISTRICT AND WYLIE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT, TO HOLD A JOINT ELECTION IN CERTAIN VOTING PRECINCTS ON MAY 10, 2014

WHEREAS, the City of Abilene ("CITY") will hold a general election for Mayor and two City Council positions within the boundaries of the CITY on May 10, 2014; and,

WHEREAS, the City of Impact ("IMPACT") will hold a general election for City Council positions within the boundaries of the City of Impact on May 10, 2014; and,

WHEREAS, the Wylie Independent School District ("WISD") will hold a general election on May 10, 2014, for Board of Trustees; and,

WHEREAS, the Abilene Independent School District ("AISD") will hold a general election on May 10, 2014, for Board of Trustees; and,

WHEREAS, the Lytle Water District ("LYTLE") will hold a general election on May 10, 2014, for Board of Trustees; and,

WHEREAS, Texas Election Code, Chapter 271, authorizes political subdivisions of the State of Texas to hold elections jointly in voting precincts if it will be of benefit to the citizens and voters thereof to be served by common polling places and elections are ordered by the authorities of two or more political subdivisions to be held on the same day in all or part of the same territory; and,

WHEREAS, Texas Government Code, Chapter 791, authorizes local governments to contract with one another and with agencies of the state for various governmental functions including those in which the contracting parties are mutually interested.

NOW, THEREFORE, pursuant to Chapter 31 of the Texas Election Code, Chapter 791 of the Texas Government Code and Sections 271.002 and 271.003 of the Texas Election Code, the Joint Election Agreement set forth below is entered into by and between the Entities acting by and through their respective governing bodies, agree as follows:

1. WISD and the CITY will share polling places during an election on May 10, 2014, in the following locations:

Precinct: 306,108, 307 Zion Lutheran Church
Precinct: 407, 408 Thomas Elementary School 1240 Lakeside Drive

2. IMPACT and the CITY will share a polling location during the election on May 10, 2014, in the following location:

Precinct: 205 Elmcrest Baptist Church 517 N. Pioneer Dr.

(Impact City Election)

3. AISD and the CITY will share polling locations during the election on May 10, 2014, in the following locations:

3602 North 12th Precinct: 101 Johnston Elementary School 3333 South 11th Church of Christ – S 11th & Willis Precinct⁻ 102, 103 4515 South 14th Street Precinct: 104, 105, 106 Westminster Presbyterian Precinct: 201, 202 Cobb Park Recreation Ctr. 2302 State Street 2250 Ambler Ave Precinct: 203, 401, 204 Sears Park Recreation Ctr Precinct: 205, 107A Elmcrest Baptist Church 517 N. Pioneer Dr. Precinct: 301, 302 Southern Hills Church of Christ 3666 Buffalo Gap Rd. Precinct: 304, 305 New Beginnings UPC 5535 Buffalo Gap Rd Precinct: 108 Zion Lutheran Church 2801 Antilley Road Precinct: 402, 403 Hillcrest Church of Christ 650 East Ambler & Jones County Pct 302 & 401

Precinct: 404-405 <u>Highland Church of Christ</u> 425 Highland Precinct: 406 Thomas Elementary School 1240 Lakeside Drive

4. LYTLE and the CITY will share a polling location during the election on May 10, 2014, in the following location:

Precinct: 406-407 <u>Thomas Elementary School</u> 1240 Lakeside Drive

(Lytle Water District)

- 5. WISD, AISD, IMPACT, LYTLE and the CITY will use a HAVA compliant voting system (DREs) in each election precinct in which a common election is held.
- 5. The expenses of the joint election will be divided equally between the entities having a common election. Expenses will be determined and divided based on each precinct. Each entity will bear all expenses for equipment and supplies utilized in its election.
- 6. It is agreed that all entities will contract with Taylor County Elections Administrator to provide all election services needed for these elections.
- 7. Early voting for CITY OF IMPACT, ABILENE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT, LYTLE WATER DISTRICT, WYLIE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT and the CITY OF ABILENE shall be conducted jointly per the election services contract with Taylor County Elections Administrator in accordance with Title 7 of the Texas Election Code.
- 8. Each entity shall be responsible to file their individual request for pre-clearance letters with the Department of Justice, if required by law.

DATED this the <u>13</u> day of <u>February</u>, 2014.

CITY OF ABILENE

BY:	
Larry D. Gilley, City Manager	
ATTEST:	
Danette Dunlap, City Secretary	

WYLIE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

BY:		
	School Superintendent	
ATT	TEST:	
ПАТ	TE APPROVED:	

CITY OF IMPACT

BY:		
	Mayor	
ATT	TEST:	
	City Secretary	
DAT	ΓΕ ΔΡΡΡΟVED·	

ABILENE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

BY:		
	School Superintendent	
ATT	EST:	
ГΛТ	E ADDDOVED.	

LYTLE WATER DISTRICT

BY:	
	Board President
ATT	EST:
DAT	E ADDDOVED.