

ABILENE LANDMARKS COMMISSION MEETING December 18, 2018 at 4 p.m.

ABILENE LANDMARKS COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF ABILENE, TEXAS COUNCIL CHAMBERS, CITY HALL

Members Present: Mr. Steve Butman, Chair Ms. Jamie Dalzell, Vice Chair Dr. Michael McClellan, Sergeant at Arms Ms. Pebbles Lee, Secretary Mr. Don Garrett

Members Absent: Mr. Phil Miller Mr. James Wagstaff

Staff Present:Mr. Mike Warrix, Director of Planning and Development ServicesMr. Hayden Brodowsky, Historic Preservation OfficerMs. Melissa Farr, Administrative SecretaryMs. Kelley Messer, First Assistant City Attorney

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Butman called the meeting to order at 4:06 p.m. and declared a quorum present.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Mr. Garrett moved to approve the minutes from the previous meeting, November 27, 2018. The vote was approved unanimously by five (5).

AYES: Dalzell, McClellan, Lee, Garrett, Butman NAYS: None

AGENDA ITEMS

CA-2018-04 - 2137 Idlewild Street, on the south side of Idlewild Street between Highland Avenue and Sayles Boulevard, consisting of .15 acres; Legal description being the east half of Lots 14 through 16, Highland Addition, City of Abilene, Taylor County, Texas

Mr. Hayden Brodowsky presented this request.

Mr. Butman opened the public hearing.

Abilene Landmarks Commission Meeting Minutes: December 18, 2018

Ms. Nelda Sims spoke in favor of this request, as she would like to add an addition to the west side of the house.

Seeing no one else present and desiring to be heard, the public hearing was closed.

PLANNING STAFF RECOMMENDATION: Approval

Ms. Lee moved to approve this request with the following stipulations:

The addition can be no larger than 6 X 10 feet and must 1) follow the existing rooflines, 2) be the same color as the house, 3) be of the same wooden siding, and 4) if windows are moved, they must match the original appearance.

Mr. Garrett seconded the motion. The motion to approve prevailed by the following vote:

AYES: Dalzell, McClellan, Lee, Garrett, and Butman NAYS: None

νυυουκα

The Abilene Landmarks Commission meeting was adjourned at 4:43 p.m.

Chairman Approved: Stave Butmen