## BETTY HARDWICK CENTER MINUTES OF BOARD OF TRUSTEES' MEETING August 7, 2018 2616 SOUTH CLACK, ABILENE, TEXAS



Dedicated to People Committed to Care

2616 South Clack Street Abilene, TX 79606 ph. 325 690.5100 fax 325 690.5136 www.bettyhardwick.org

Staff Present:
Jenny Goode
Theron Cole
Chris Mabry

Michael Jones
Dena Heaton
Jennifer Farrar
Matt Thaxton
Deborah Kilpatrick

Trustees Present:
Rita Johnston
Michael Whitehorn
Dee Moore
Terri Plumlee
Keith Dowell
Vicky Hicks
Patty Bundick
Priscilla Rayford

Trustees Absent:
Art Casarez

**Executive Staff Absent:** 

Terry Hayhurst

**Guests Present:** 

18.12.01. Invocation/Quorum/Recognition of Guests

Chair, Rita Johnston, called the meeting to order at 5:17 p.m. She stated that a quorum of eight (8) Board members was present. Dr. Whitehorn then delivered the invocation

18.12.02. Citizens Comments

There were no citizens' comments.

18.12.03. Minutes of June 5, 2018 Board Meeting

On a motion by Dee Moore, seconded by Priscilla Rayford, the Board approved the minutes from the Board meeting on June 5, 2018.

7 For

0 Against

1 Abstained

The Board Chair abstains from voting.

18.12.04. Financial Reports, April, 2018

Mr. Mabry summarized the financial reports for June, 2018. The Center had a deficit of \$63,388 for the month.

On a motion by Keith Dowell, seconded by Vicky Hicks, the Board accepted the financial report as presented.

7 For

0 Against

1 Abstained

### 18.12.05. Consideration of FY 2019 Budget

On a motion by Keith Dowell, seconded by Michael Whitehorn, the Board approved the FY 19 budget as presented and permitted staff to submit budget reports to the Texas Health and Human Services Commission as instructed by those agencies.

7 For <u>0</u> Against <u>1</u> Abstained

# 18.12.06. Consideration of Approval of Annual Board Training Program On a motion by Priscilla Rayford, seconded by Vicky Hicks, the Board approved the Annual Training Program for its members.

7 For 0 Against 1 Abstained

# 18.12.07. Report of the Nominating Committee and Election of Officers

On a recommendation by the committee, seconded by Vicky Hicks, the recommendations were accepted. In July, Board Chair Rita Johnston appointed Mrs. Plumlee, Mr. Whitehorn and Mr. Casarez to the Board Officers Nominating Committee with instructions to recommend a slate of officers at the August Board meeting. The recommendation is as follows:

Rita Johnston Chair Michael Whitehorn, Vice Chair Vicky Hicks, Secretary Keith Dowell, Treasurer

7 For 0 Against 1 Abstained

### 18.12.08. Chairperson's Board Committee Appointment

The following committee appointments were made by the Board Chair:

Texas Council Community MHMR Centers Board Liaison: Rita Johnston Texas Council Community MHMR Centers Board Alternate: Art Casarez

#### 18.12.09. Information Items

- DADS Authority Review Mrs. Farrar reported on a great review, adding that we will do some additional PASRR training and also a Plan of Correction for a few recommendations.
- Financial Ratios Comparison Eide Bailly Mrs. Goode distributed a
  ratio comparison for Community Centers which shows the debt to
  equity ratio, days of operation in fund balance and cash/investments,
  etc.
- Board Policy Revision Status Report Mrs. Goode is revising the Board Policies for board approval at a future meeting.

Community and/or Staff Meetings for the CEO – Mrs. Goode provided a review of the meetings that she and executive staff attended for the month.

- 18.12.10. Closed Session In Accordance with Open Meetings Act, Section 551.074, Personnel Matters, Review Performance of Chief Executive Officer The Board went into Closed Session at 6:35 p.m.
- 18.12.11. Open Session Consideration of Action Regarding Chief Executive Officer
  The Board went back into open session at 7:10 p.m. Mrs. Johnston reported
  that the Board was back in Open Session after consideration of the Chief
  Executive Officer's performance. No action was taken.
- 18.12.12. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 7:14 p.m. with all business being completed. The next meeting was set for September 4, 2018 at 5:15 p.m.

APPROVED:

Chair, Board of Trustees

Secretary, Roard of Trustees